Haibun

I discovered the Haibun form of Japanese writing today, mainly prose that includes one or two Haiku within it.
It resonates with me as a form that I might aspire to produce.
It can be very descriptive, almost in a reportage way, yet be punctuated by those measured syllables of the Haiku, becoming a distillation of the whole piece. In English this form is often used in Flash fiction today, another form I discovered, a few months ago, which I am enjoying exploring.
Its punchy quality attracts me, a sprint, in comparison to the marathon of a novel.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflections, Sketchbook

Leave a Reply

