Print

Friday was a good day. The kind of day, where you know it will be two days recovery before you’re right again, but you don’t care. I got into the print workshop and spent 3 hours solid experimenting with the oil based ink.
I hadn’t expected to do any on Friday so it was a bonus, a treat. I spent some of the time preparing pieces of perspex that I had scrounged from the bins in the 3D workshop. This whole final project will be made from scraps I can ‘beg, steal and borrow’…well beg mainly. I had a good day, the day before, picking up some materials I could use. Things are looking more possible at the moment.
I want a range of colours to represent the sea, from deep ocean to tidal river.

image

image

I played with blues and greens & a touch of yellow. I experimented with thin layers of rolled out ink & thick impastos for surface texture too. I employed the inked pallette knife too; to remove unwanted thick slubs of dried up ink and to add thick streaks of fresh ink at neccessary intervals. Very satisfying.
I then turned to mono-printing, to produce some sketches of possible ideas for the form that the sea will take. I had imagined a large piece of ocean becoming a meandering river, representing a journey of identity. I also wanted to use up the large blobs of ink I had pasted on the bench.

image

image

I improvised some flowing lines based on earlier sketches in my sketchbook. This part of the final piece will also have text that flows from left to right, on both sides. This will encourage the viewer to walk around the piece to ‘read’ it.

Quite early on I found myself adding the elliptical forms, nestled within the meanders. Could these embryonic forms represent me & my growth as a person? As an artist? or are they visual representations of a state of mind? Are they experiences? Life changing and/or life affirming? Does giving birth to these experiences mean they become part of the overall journey or are they tangents that pull strength from me and my journey? and yet are incorporated within it.
Is the journey/narrative therefore less smooth, less linear? Is it more of a tangled mess of  experience? with some threads untangling to continue on their journey.

image

image

image

image

I particularly like the images where I added turps to the ink and let it pool and spread in its own unpredictable ways.

image

I enjoy the automatic markmaking that this type of printing allows. The unpredictability is inspiring and allows the mind to free itself from its preconceived ideas. I found the process medititative and it was more so once others left the print room. These prints were created in isolation but are now revealed to the masses for their feedback.
Tell me what you see in the ink spots…
Tell me what you feel as you see the ink spots…
Tell me what the ink spots make you think of…
Tell me where the ink spots take you.

image

2 Comments

Filed under Reflections, Sketchbook

2 responses to “Print

  1. Sonia, I love the subtleness of the first two photos – the hint of green in the second one makes it look like its the sea reflecting the first one!
    I also like the idea of the river as a journey BUT when I think of the sea I also think of travelling and journeys and ‘adventure’. I think that’s because the sea is something you make a journey to (i.e. the beach, holiday) or becomes the start of a journey (ferry journey, cruise, sea kayaking). For me the sea is a journey of huge possibilities and direction, the river is a well-run course that only changes direction by slow and incremental erosion of the forces that constrain it (unless there’s a flood and it breaks its banks).
    That’s just the thoughts those prints and your words put into my head…

    Like

    • Well said dear friend. The challenge is to depict the ocean flowing into the river. The adventure for the viewer will be the journey walking around the piece to read the text I plan on including.

      Like

Leave a Reply

